Cartooning for Peace / Presentation

Presentation

KOFI ANNAN-PLANTU-ONU-2006-

“Cartoons make us laugh. Without them, our lives would be much sadder.

But they are no laughing matter : They have the power to inform, and also to offend.”

Kofi Annan, Nobel Peace Prize at the symposium “Unlearning Intolerance”

New York, October 16, 2006

 

– Who we are –

Cartooning for Peace is an international network of committed press cartoonists, who fight with humour for the respect of cultures and freedoms.

 – Our history –

Cartooning for Peace is an organization founded after an event and a meeting. The bloody reactions to the publication of the Mohamed cartoons in Danish newspaper, Jyllands-Posten on September 30, 2005 led to the founding meeting of twelve international cartoonists on October 16, 2006, gathered together by Kofi Annan, Nobel Peace Prize and United Nations Secretary General and editorial cartoonist Plantu, from French newspaper Le Monde, for a seminar on “Unlearning Intolerance”.

 

– Our commitment –

Cartooning for Peace defends fundamental freedoms and democracy. Our organisation is particularly eager to exert freedom of expression as it is defined in article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights: “Everyone has the right to freedom of opinion and expression; this right includes freedom to hold opinions without interference and to seek, receive and impart information and ideas through any media and regardless of frontiers”.

 

 

– Our values –

Cartooning for Peace is attached to the respect for pluralism of cultures and opinions. In the events we organize, exhibitions, publications and international meetings, we are mindful to show the diversity of cartoonists’ perspectives on a given subject.

Cartooning for Peace fights against prejudice and intellectual conformism. Towards extremism, we denounce the excesses, we mock the false certainties, counteract odium and strive to dismount impostures.

Cartooning for Peace is respectful in disrespect. We do not seek to humiliate the beliefs and opinions. We circumvent interdicts with humour.

Cartooning for Peace takes into account the risk that a cartoon published on the Web can appear out of context, within seconds, in every corner of the globe. Our organization is vigilant to prevent press cartoon from becoming an aggravating factor of conflicts.

Cartooning for Peace offers editorial content. Convinced that cartoonists often foretell acutely before everyone, the stirrings of society which will make news tomorrow, we strive to bring forward debates that our societies are not even yet aware of.

 

– Our actions –

Cartooning for Peace allows cartoonists to interact with each other and to confront their different ideological opinions. Our network provides visibility and support for those who are unable to work freely or whose freedom is threatened.

Cartooning for Peace uses the educational value of press cartoon to denounce intolerances. Our organization gives young people a voice and raises their awareness on major societal problems.

Cartooning for Peace brings press cartoon closer to the public. We organize meetings between cartoonists and the public, and set up thematic exhibitions showing a critical look of society. We also publish press cartoons, in paper or digital form.

 Cartooning for Peace is a tool serving freedom of expression: a forum and a meeting place for all those who challenge intolerance and all forms of dogmatism.

 

 


 

– Cartooning for Peace in a few significant dates –

 

1991 – 1992 – Plantu meets Yasser Arafat in 1991 and Shimon Pérès in 1992, and makes them successively sign the same cartoon. For the first time, the signatures from both sides appear on the same document, one year before the Oslo agreements. The meeting is filmed and the video receives the Rare Document Prize at the Festival of the Scoop of Angers. The Reuters agency defines the meeting as “Cartoons’s diplomacy”.

2005 – The case of the cartoons depicting the prophet Mohammed: one part of the world heats up after the publication of 12 drawings from Danish cartoonists, depicting Mohammed, in the Danish newspaper, Jyllands-Posten. Fifty people die in the riots in Pakistan, and eleven in Libya.

2006 – On October 16th, 2016, at the UN headquarters in New York, Kofi Annan (the then UN secretary-general) and Plantu set up a seminar called “Unlearning intolerance”. Twelve famous international editorial cartoonists meet to think about the editorial responsibility of published cartoons. The first exhibition “Cartooning for Peace” is born there.

The Cartooning for Peace Swiss Foundation is then created in Geneva with Kofi Annan as Honorary President. Two years later, in 2008, in Paris, the French Association Cartooning for Peace was born. Its headquarters are located at the newspaper Le Monde where Plantu, the President of the Foundation and of the Association, works.

2007 – 2nd Cartooning for Peace exhibition at the Palais des Nations in Geneva, and then at the Ministry of Culture in Paris, Rome and Atlanta.

2008 – First meeting of editorial cartoonists and exhibition in Israel and Palestine (Jerusalem, Ramallah and Bethlehem). It’s once again the occasion to generate dialogue between Palestinian and Israeli cartoonists.

2010 – Cartooning for Peace and the Caen Memorial launch the first permanent exhibition of the association thanks to the support of the Mutuelle Générale de l’Education Nationale (MGEN). The book “Foutez-nous la paix” (“Leave us alone”, Editions Beaux-Arts) is published for the occasion.

In the same year, Cartooning for Peace presents its first exhibition in Latin America, in Bogota.

2011 – The Cartooning for Peace Swiss Foundation holds its first exhibition on the shores of Lake Geneva and creates the International Editorial Cartoon Award presented by Kofi Annan.

2012 – Cartooning for Peace creates the first International Editorial Cartoons Festival in Montpellier, in partnership with the General Council of Hérault and the Montpellier Press Club.

In December, the French daily newspaper Le Monde creates the page “Je te fais un dessin” (“I make you a drawing”).

2013 – Cartooning for Peace produces its first traveling educational exhibition about editorial cartoon and freedom of speech: “Cartoons for Peace” (« Dessins pour la Paix »).

2014 – Radu Mihaileanu and Stéphanie Valloatto direct the movie “Cartoonists – Footsoldiers of Democracy” about twelve cartoonists from Cartooning for Peace. The film is presented at the Cannes Film Festival 2014, in the presence of the twelve protagonists and the Cartooning for Peace team.

2015 – Attack against the editors of Charlie Hebdo. Among the twelve victims were the editorial cartoonists Wolinski, Charb, Cabu, Tignous and Honoré.

Cartooning for Peace organizes a grand international seminar on press cartoon and freedom of speech: “Press cartoons: a state of affairs”.

On December 15 and 16, with the support of the European Union, Cartooning for Peace gathers 28 cartoonists, each one representing a member State of the EU, for the event “Cartooning for Human rights”, two days of meetings, exhibition and debates inside the European Parliament.

Cartooning for Peace / Présentation

Présentation

KOFI ANNAN-PLANTU-ONU-2006-

« Les dessins de presse nous font rire. Sans eux, nos vies seraient bien tristes.

Mais c’est aussi une chose sérieuse: ils ont le pouvoir d’informer mais aussi d’offenser. »

Kofi Annan, Prix Nobel pour la Paix
au colloque «Désapprendre l’intolérance»,
New York, 16 octobre 2006

 

 

– Ce que nous sommes –

Cartooning for Peace est un réseau international de dessinateurs de presse engagés qui combattent, avec humour, pour le respect des cultures et des libertés.

– Notre histoire –

Cartooning for Peace est une association née d’un événement et d’une rencontre.

Les réactions sanglantes à la publication des caricatures de Mahomet dans le journal danois, le Jyllands-Posten, le 30 septembre 2005 ont conduit à une rencontre fondatrice : le 16 octobre 2006, Kofi Annan, prix Nobel de la Paix et Secrétaire général des Nations Unies, et Plantu, journaliste et dessinateur au journal français Le Monde et L’Express, réunissent  douze dessinateurs internationaux autour d’un colloque «Désapprendre l’intolérance – dessiner pour la paix».

– Notre engagement –

Cartooning for Peace promeut les libertés fondamentales et la démocratie.

L’association s’attache notamment à exercer la liberté d’expression telle qu’elle est définie dans l’article 19 de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme :

« tout individu a droit à la liberté d’opinion et d’expression, ce qui implique le droit de ne pas être inquiété pour ses opinions et celui de chercher, de recevoir et de diffuser au delà des frontières, les informations et les idées par tous moyens d’expression».

– Nos valeurs –

Cartooning for Peace s’attache au respect du pluralisme des cultures et des opinions. Dans les expositions, publications et rencontres organisées, nous sommes attentifs à montrer la diversité des points de vue des dessinateurs sur un même sujet.

Cartooning for Peace combat les préjugés et le conformisme intellectuel. Face à l’extrémisme, nous dénonçons les outrances, nous nous moquons des fausses certitudes, controns les anathèmes et nous efforçons de démonter les impostures.

Cartooning for Peace est respectueux dans l’irrespect. Nous ne cherchons pas à humilier  les croyances et les opinions. Nous contournons avec humour les interdits.

Cartooning for Peace prend en compte le risque que le dessin publié sur Internet puisse apparaître hors de son contexte, en quelques secondes, aux quatre coins du globe. L’association est vigilante à ne pas faire du dessin de presse un facteur d’aggravation  des conflits.

Convaincus que le dessinateur exprime souvent avant tout le monde et avec acuité les frémissements de la société qui feront l’actualité de demain, Cartooning for Peace s’efforce de faire émerger des débats dont nos sociétés n’ont pas forcément encore conscience.

– Nos actions –

Cartooning for Peace permet de faire dialoguer les dessinateurs entre eux et de confronter leurs différentes nuances idéologiques. Son réseau donne une visibilité et un appui à ceux qui sont empêchés d’exercer librement leur métier ou dont la liberté est menacée.

Cartooning for Peace utilise la valeur pédagogique du dessin de presse pour dénoncer les intolérances. L’association donne la parole aux jeunes et les sensibilise aux grands problèmes de société.

Cartooning for Peace rapproche le dessin de presse de son public. Nous suscitons des rencontres entre les dessinateurs et un large public, éditons des expositions thématiques proposant un regard critique et ironique sur la société. Enfin, nous publions des dessins  de presse, sous forme papiers et numériques.

Outil au service de la liberté d’expression, Cartooning for peace est un forum, un lieu de rencontres, pour tous ceux qui récusent l’intolérance et toutes les formes de dogmatismes.

 

 


– Cartooning for Peace en quelques dates –

 

1991 – 1992 – Plantu rencontre Yasser Arafat en 1991 et Shimon Pères en 1992 et les fait signer successivement un même dessin. Pour la première fois, les signatures des deux parties sont apposées sur un même document dessiné, un an avant les Accords d’Oslo. La rencontre est filmée et la vidéo reçoit le prix du document rare au Festival du scoop d’Angers. L’agence Reuters définit la rencontre de « Cartoon’s diplomacy ».

2005 – Affaire des caricatures de Mahomet : une partie du monde arabe s’embrase suite à la publication de 12 caricatures de Mahomet réalisées par des dessinateurs danois et publiées dans le Jyllands-Posten. Les émeutes font 50 morts au Pakistan et 11 en Libye.

2006 – Le 16 octobre 2006, Kofi Annan et Plantu organisent au siège des Nations unies à New York le colloque intitulé  Désapprendre l’intolérance ». Douze dessinateurs de presse de renom du monde s’y réunissent pour réfléchir à la responsabilité éditoriale des dessins de presse publiés. La première exposition « Cartooning for Peace » y voit le jour.

La fondation Suisse Cartooning for Peace/Dessins pour la Paix est alors créée à Genève avec Kofi Annan comme Président d’honneur. Deux ans plus tard, en 2008, l’Association française Cartooning for Peace voit le jour à Paris. L’équipe est hébergée dans les locaux du journal Le Monde où travaille Plantu, Président de la Fondation et de l’Association Cartooning for Peace.

2007 – 2nde exposition Cartooning for Peace présentée au Palais des Nations à Genève, puis au Ministère de la Culture à Paris, à Rome et à Atlanta.

2008 – 1ère rencontre de dessinateurs de presse et exposition en Israël et Palestine (Jérusalem, Ramallah et Bethlehem). C’est une fois de plus l’occasion de faire dialoguer des dessinateurs palestiniens et israéliens.

2010 – Cartooning for Peace et le Mémorial de Caen lancent la première exposition permanente de l’association grâce au soutien de la MGEN. Le lancement de l’exposition s’accompagne de la parution de l’ouvrage « Foutez-nous la paix » (éd. Beaux-Arts).

La même année, Cartooning for Peace présente sa première exposition en Amérique Latine, à Bogota.

2011 – La Fondation Suisse Cartooning for Peace inaugure sa première exposition sur les bords du Lac Léman et crée le prix international du dessin de presse, remis par Kofi Annan.

2012 – Cartooning for Peace créé, à Montpellier, le premier festival international de dessins de presse, en partenariat avec le Conseil Général de l’Hérault et le Club de la Presse de Montpellier.

En décembre, la page « Je te fais un dessin » voit le jour dans le quotidien Le Monde.

2013 – Cartooning for Peace produit sa première exposition pédagogique itinérante sur le dessin de presse et la liberté d’expression : « Dessins pour la Paix ».

2014 – Radu Mihaileanu et Stéphanie Valloatto réalisent le film « Les Fantassins de la Démocratie » sur les dessinateurs de Cartooning for Peace. Le film est présenté au festival de Cannes 2014, en présence des 12 dessinateurs protagonistes et de l’équipe de Cartooning for Peace.

2015 – Attentat contre la rédaction de Charlie Hebdo. Parmi les 12 victimes, figurent les dessinateurs de presse Wolinski, Charb, Cabu, Tignous et Honoré.

Cartooning for Peace organise le 21 septembre un grand colloque international de réflexion sur le dessin de presse et la liberté d’expression « Le dessin de presse dans tous ses États ».

Les 15 et 16 décembre, Cartooning for Peace rassemble, avec le soutien de l’Union européenne, 28 dessinateurs de presse, représentant chacun des États membres de l’Union européenne, pour l’évènement « Cartooning for Human Rights« , deux jours de rencontres, exposition et débats dans l’enceinte du Parlement européen.