Cartooning for Peace / Events / “Cartooning for Peace” residency at the Blaise-Cendrars Media Library in Conflans-Sainte-Honorine (France)

“Cartooning for Peace” residency at the Blaise-Cendrars Media Library in Conflans-Sainte-Honorine (France)

Médiathèque Blaise-Cendrars

France
Conflans-Sainte-Honorine
Until 06/07/2023

Actively involved in the youth and citizenship plan proposed by the town of Conflans-Sainte-Honorine, following the attack on Samuel Paty, and more specifically in the area of media and information education, the Blaise-Cendrars media library has organised since 2021 various actions around press cartoons in close partnership with Cartooning for Peace.

 

Nowadays, with new technologies, it seems easy to find information: you grab your phone, go online, type in a keyword or two, and read the first free article that comes up. However, this gesture (when it is allowed!) does not guarantee that we are well informed. In countries where the press is free and information flows freely, “fake news” is a real scourge: aggravated by social media, sometimes going as far as denying historical facts, it makes the work of journalists difficult. In authoritarian regimes, this is a profession that is banned or restricted by the authorities. Social media can then become real spaces of freedom and civil mobilisation.

The twenty press cartoons you will discover in this exhibition remind us, with humour and commitment, of the importance of the right to information. In this “information jungle”, it is not easy to preserve free, independent, reliable, verified and plural information. Yet freedom of the press and, more broadly, freedom of expression are fundamental principles on which our fragile democracies rest…

It is up to us to defend them!

 

This exhibition is part of the “Cartooning for Peace” residency at the Blaise-Cendrars Media Library in Conflans-Sainte-Honorine.

Actively involved in the youth and citizenship plan proposed by the town of Conflans-Sainte-Honorine, following the attack on Samuel Paty, and more specifically in the area of media and information education, the Blaise-Cendrars media library has organised various actions around press cartoons in close partnership with Cartooning for Peace. In view of the specific expectations in the Conflans-Sainte-Honorine area, particularly from teachers, the media library, supported by the DRAC-Ile-de-France, proposes in 2023 to strengthen this axis by accompanying young people, but more generally the whole population, in the proper use of the media and the deciphering of information massively disseminated on the internet and social networks, skills that are essential to the exercise of an enlightened citizenship

The Media Library will host a residency with Cartooning for Peace from January to June 2023, during which time the public of the Media Library will be able to discover the exhibition “In the news jungle” (Dans la jungle de l’info), which aims to open up a critical view of information and to grasp the vital importance of freedom of expression.

 


 

During the same period, Cartooning for Peace and its partner the International Institute for Human Rights and Peace, with the support of the 11 January Fund, will offer a day of training on “teaching through press cartoons and fundamental freedoms” to education professionals. In addition, the network’s cartoonists will run ten double workshops for young people in the city. This residency will end with a showcase of the work of the young people, through the cartoons they have produced during these meetings.

Partners

  • 1200px-Republique-francaise-logo.svg
  • 01 Logo Conflans couleur
  • 02 logo_mediatheque_couleurs – Fond blanc
Share on

Cartooning for Peace / Évènements / Résidence « Cartooning for Peace » à la Médiathèque Blaise-Cendrars de Conflans-Sainte-Honorine

Résidence « Cartooning for Peace » à la Médiathèque Blaise-Cendrars de Conflans-Sainte-Honorine

Médiathèque Blaise-Cendrars

France
Conflans-Sainte-Honorine
Jusqu'au 06/07/2023

Impliquée activement dans le plan jeunesse et citoyenneté proposé par la ville de Conflans-Sainte-Honorine, à la suite de l’attentat contre Samuel Paty, et plus spécifiquement sur l’axe de l’éducation aux médias et à l’information, la médiathèque Blaise-Cendrars a organisé dès 2021 différentes actions autour du dessin de presse en partenariat étroit avec Cartooning for Peace.

 

De nos jours, avec les nouvelles technologies, il semble facile de trouver une information : on attrape son téléphone, on va sur internet, on tape un mot clé ou deux, et on lit le premier article gratuit qui nous apparait. Pourtant, ce geste (quand il est permis !) ne nous garantit pas d’être bien informés. Dans les pays où la presse est libre et où l’information coule à flot, les «fake news» (fausses informations) sont un véritable fléau : aggravé par les réseaux sociaux, allant parfois jusqu’au déni de faits historiques, il rend difficile le travail des journalistes. Un métier qui, dans les régimes autoritaires, est interdit ou limité par le pouvoir. Les réseaux sociaux peuvent alors devenir de vrais espaces de liberté et de mobilisation citoyenne.

Les vingt dessins de presse que vous allez découvrir dans cette exposition rappellent, avec humour et engagement, l’importance du droit à l’information. Dans cette «jungle de l’info», il n’est pas évident de préserver une information libre, indépendante, fiable, vérifiée et plurielle. Il en va pourtant de la liberté de la presse et, plus largement, de la liberté d’expression, principes fondamentaux sur lesquels reposent nos démocraties fragiles…

À nous de les défendre !

 

Cette exposition s’inscrit dans le cadre de la résidence «Cartooning for Peace» à la Médiathèque Blaise-Cendrars de Conflans-Sainte-Honorine.

Impliquée activement dans le plan jeunesse et citoyenneté proposé par la ville de Conflans-Sainte-Honorine, à la suite de l’attentat contre Samuel Paty, et plus spécifiquement sur l’axe de l’éducation aux médias et à l’information, la médiathèque Blaise-Cendrars a organisé dès 2021 différentes actions autour du dessin de presse en partenariat étroit avec l’association Cartooning for Peace. Au regard des attentes spécifiques sur le territoire de Conflans-Sainte-Honorine, notamment des enseignants, la médiathèque, soutenue par la DRAC-Ile-de-France, propose en 2023 de renforcer cet axe en accompagnant la jeunesse, mais, plus globalement, l’ensemble de la population, dans le bon usage des médias et le décryptage de l’information diffusée massivement sur internet et les réseaux sociaux, compétences indispensables à l’exercice d’une citoyenneté éclairée.  

La Médiathèque accueille en résidence Cartooning for Peace de janvier à juin 2023 période au cours de laquelle les publics de la Médiathèque pourront découvrir l’exposition «Dans la jungle de l’info», visant à ouvrir un regard critique sur l’information, et à saisir l’importance capitale de la liberté d’expression.

 


 

Sur cette même période, Cartooning for Peace et son partenaire l’Institut international des droits de l’Homme et de la paix, avec le soutien du Fonds du 11 janvier, offriront une journée de formation « pédagogie par le dessin de presse et libertés fondamentales » aux professionnels de l’éducation. Par ailleurs, les dessinateurs et dessinatrices du réseau animeront dix doubles-ateliers à destination des jeunes de la ville. Cette résidence se clôturera par un temps de valorisation du travail des jeunes, à travers les dessins qu’ils auront réalisés dans le cadre de ces rencontres.

Partenaires

  • 1200px-Republique-francaise-logo.svg
  • 01 Logo Conflans couleur
  • 02 logo_mediatheque_couleurs – Fond blanc
Partagez sur :