Cartooning for Peace / Cartoonists catalog / ZAPIRO

ZAPIRO

South Africa

Born in 1958, ZAPIRO (aka Jonathan Shapiro) went through school in Cape Town, architecture at UCT, conscription, activism, detention and a Fulbright Scholarship to New York before establishing himself as South Africa’s best-known and most-awarded cartoonist.

He has been the editorial cartoonist for the Sunday Times since 1998 and Daily Maverick starting 2017. Previously he was editorial cartoonist for Mail & Guardian (1994-2016) and for Sowetan (1994 – 2005) and other independent newspapers. He has published 18 best-selling annuals as well as The Mandela Files, VuvuzelaNation (a collection of his sporting cartoons) and Democrazy (a collection of his cartoons spanning the 20 years of SA’s democracy).

He has won numerous South African and International awards. In 2011, the magazine Jeune Afrique voted him one of the 50 most influential people in Africa.

Share on
Website : www.zapiro.com

Gallery

  • South Africa
    ZAPIRO - South Africa
  • South Africa
    ZAPIRO - South Africa
  • South Africa
    ZAPIRO - South Africa
  • South Africa
    ZAPIRO - South Africa
  • South Africa
    ZAPIRO - South Africa
  • South Africa
    ZAPIRO - South Africa
  • South Africa
    ZAPIRO - South Africa
    Zapiro got a second lawsuit in 2008 for R7 million rand (then $1 million US dollars) for damages to Jacob Zuma's reputation and for injury to his dignity. "It was for one very hard-hitting cartoon referred to here as the Rape of Justice. This case lasted four years and became a much more high-profile case which Zuma dropped just one day before it actually came to court in October 2012" explains Zapiro.
  • South Africa
    ZAPIRO - South Africa
  • South Africa
    ZAPIRO - South Africa
  • South Africa
    ZAPIRO - South Africa
  • South Africa
  • South Africa
  • South Africa
  • South Africa
  • South Africa
  • South Africa
  • South Africa
  • South Africa
  • South Africa
  • South Africa

Video

Cartooning for Peace / Catalogue des dessinateurs / ZAPIRO

ZAPIRO

Afrique du Sud

Né en 1958, Zapiro (alias Jonathan Shapiro) est passé par des études d’architecture à l’Université de Cape Town, la conscription, l’activisme, la détention et une bourse Fulbright à New York avant de devenir le dessinateur sud-africain le plus connu et le plus primé.

Il  est le dessinateur attitré du Sunday Times depuis 1998 et du Daily Maverick depuis 2017. Il a travaillé pour Mail & Guardian de 1994 à 2016. Il a également été le caricaturiste de Sowetan et d’autres journaux indépendants. Il a publié 18 best-sellers ainsi que The Mandela Files, VuvuzelaNation (compilation de ses dessins sportifs) et Democrazy (album couvrant les 20 dernières années de la démocratie sud-africaine).

Il a remporté de nombreux prix en Afrique du Sud et à l’international. En 2011, le magazine Jeune Afrique l’élit parmi les 50 personnes les plus influentes en Afrique.

Partagez sur :
Site web : www.zapiro.com

En images

  • Afrique du Sud
    ZAPIRO - Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
    ZAPIRO - Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
    ZAPIRO - Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
    ZAPIRO - Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
    ZAPIRO - Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
    ZAPIRO - Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
    ZAPIRO - Afrique du Sud
    A la suite de la publication de ce dessin, Jacob Zuma réclame à Zapiro 7 millions de rands (1 million de dollars à l’époque) pour atteinte à sa dignité. « C’était un dessin très percutant appelé ‘Le viol de la Justice’. Cette affaire a duré quatre ans et est devenue un cas très célèbre, puisque Zuma a abandonné les charges un jour avant sa comparution en octobre 2012 », raconte Zapiro.
  • Afrique du Sud
    ZAPIRO - Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
    ZAPIRO - Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
    ZAPIRO - Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud
  • Afrique du Sud

En vidéo