Cartooning for Peace / Cartoonists catalog / SLIM

SLIM

Nouveau document 5
Algeria

Menouar Merabtene, alias Slim, was born in 1945 in Sidi Ali Benyoub (western Algeria).  Slim is a cartoonist and graphic novelist.

Adventurers Bouzid and Zina are the two well-known comics characters drawn by Slim : his comics are distributed in Algeria and France.  He also publishes his cartoons in many international newspapers and magazines, including in L’Humanité from 1995 to 1997.

In 2009, an official tribute distinguished his work for its contribution to the cultural heritage of Algeria during the 2nd Comics International Festival of Algiers (FIBDA). Wolinski say one day: “If you want to really know Algeria, read Slim’s comics. ”

Slim is now collaborating with the Algerian daily Le Soir d’Algérie, Algerian French-language daily in which he publishes once a week a full page of comics. He also participated in missions to the FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization) in Egypt and Czechoslovakia.

Share on

Gallery

  • SLIM-cartoonist-1
    SLIM - SLIM-cartoonist-1
  • SLIM-cartoonist-2
    SLIM - SLIM-cartoonist-2
  • Nouveau document 5
    SLIM - Nouveau document 5
  • SLIM-cartoonist-4
    SLIM - SLIM-cartoonist-4
  • SLIM-cartoonist-5
    SLIM - SLIM-cartoonist-5
  • SLIM-cartoonist-6
    SLIM - SLIM-cartoonist-6
  • Sans titre-1
    SLIM - Sans titre-1
  • SLIM-cartoonist-1
  • SLIM-cartoonist-2
  • Nouveau document 5
  • SLIM-cartoonist-4
  • SLIM-cartoonist-5
  • SLIM-cartoonist-6
  • Sans titre-1

Cartooning for Peace / Cartoonists catalog / SLIM

SLIM

Algérie

Menouar Merabtène, dit Slim, né en 1945 à Sidi Ali Benyoub, dans l’ouest de l’Algérie, est dessinateur de presse et auteur de bandes dessinées.

Slim croque ses personnages Bouzid et Zina, aventuriers des temps modernes, dans des bandes-dessinées distribuées en Algérie et en France et il collabore avec de nombreux journaux et magazines internationaux. Il publie notamment dans L’Humanité entre 1995 et 1997.

En 2009, un hommage officiel distinguant son œuvre et reconnaissant sa contribution au patrimoine culturel de l’Algérie lui est rendu dans le cadre de la 2e édition du Festival International de la Bande Dessinée d’Alger (FIBDA). Wolinski dira un jour de lui : « Si vous voulez connaître l’Algérie, lisez les albums de Slim. »

Slim collabore aujourd’hui avec Le Soir d’Algérie, quotidien francophone algérien dans lequel il publie une planche hebdomadaire (Tout Va Bien) les jeudis. Il a par ailleurs participé à des missions pour la FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization) en Égypte et en Tchécoslovaquie.

Share on
Website : Zid Ya Bouzid

Gallery

  • SLIM-dessinateur-1
    SLIM - SLIM-dessinateur-1
  • SLIM-dessinateur-2
    SLIM - SLIM-dessinateur-2
  • Nouveau document 5
    SLIM - Nouveau document 5
  • SLIM-dessinateur-4
    SLIM - SLIM-dessinateur-4
  • SLIM-dessinateur-5
    SLIM - SLIM-dessinateur-5
  • SLIM-dessinateur-6
    SLIM - SLIM-dessinateur-6
  • Sans titre-1
    SLIM - Sans titre-1
  • SLIM-dessinateur-1
  • SLIM-dessinateur-2
  • Nouveau document 5
  • SLIM-dessinateur-4
  • SLIM-dessinateur-5
  • SLIM-dessinateur-6
  • Sans titre-1