Cartooning for Peace / Israel

Israel





Background

Israeli youth have grown up in a heavy climate linked to the strong geopolitical conflicts in the region, particularly with Palestine. Despite the differences of opinion within Israeli society, young people seem generally quite nationalistic, often confronted with the vision of Israel as a “besieged citadel”, where the issue of “living in security” is paramount.

Through the educational system, socialization between peers or military service, which encourage a vision discovered through a single prism, it seems difficult for young people to develop a true critical mind.

Beyond this outward looking perspective, Israeli youth also deal with internal challenges. Indeed, a large majority of young people aged 15 to 24 that the relationship between Israeli Jews and Israeli Arabs is one of the main issues facing Israeli society. A wide disparity reflected in the different sectors of society (the education system and the quality of education varying, for example, between the two communities) and which increases the multiplicity of challenges they face, points of view, opinions and questions.

Through these issues, living together in the same society and region is at the heart of the major concerns of this youth.

This is also why it was essential for Cartooning for Peace and its partner to have teachers from both communities work in synergy and to participate in Jewish and Arab schools.

With the objective of promoting Peace, and the opening of dialogue, initiated within the framework of the programme financed by the European Union ” Cartooning for Peace and Democracy”, Cartooning for Peace and its partner, the Center for Educational Technology, offer Israeli youth in all its diversity a reflection through press cartoons on the major societal issues they face.

Our partner

CET (Center for Educational Technology) is an Israeli NGO whose mission is to promote equal opportunities for students from all social groups in the country. CET develops textbooks and online educational content in Hebrew and Arabic. Is 70,000 teachers who benefit of online or in-person training and who are equipped with the knowledge necessary to encourage dialogue between cultures and convey the values of humanism and appreciation of diversity.

Our joint actions

Cartooning for Peace and the Center for Educational Technology (CET) are working together on the “Cartooning for Peace and Democracy” programme in Israel, which offers a reflection through images and smiles on the major challenges for the Israeli youth.

Initiated by Cartooning for Peace and supported by the European Union, the exhibition Cartooning for Peace and Democracy in Israel was conceived in consultation with our partner, in Hebrew and Arabic, in order to reflect the challenges and aspirations of Israeli youth and to make it possible, through the prism of the press cartoon, to inform but also to educate, from the social issues that concern them to the importance of freedom of expression. Thus, various themes are addressed such as the environment, immigration, gender equality, social justice and discrimination.

The programme was launched on 20-22 January, with the training session for Israeli cartoonists and teachers. Among the draftsmen, we have the participation of Israeli draftsmen: Avi Katz, Michel Kichka, Shay Charka, Uri Fink; Yonatan Wachsman and NUSKO.

This pedagogical work now takes the form of workshops and meetings, led by the cartoonists who took part in the training, in the partner schools where the exhibition circulates.

 

Tools

Discover the exhibition “Cartooning for Peace and Democracy in Israel” here.

Partenaires

  • לוגו מטח באנגלית צבע כחול
Partagez sur :

Cartooning for Peace / Israël

Israël





Contexte

La jeunesse israélienne a grandi dans un climat pesant lié aux forts conflits géopolitiques présents dans la région, en particulier avec la Palestine. Malgré les divergences d’opinion au sein de la société israélienne, les jeunes semblent globalement assez nationalistes, souvent confrontés à la vision d’Israël comme une « citadelle assiégée », où la question du « vivre en sécurité » est primordiale.

De par le système éducatif, la socialisation entre pairs ou encore le service militaire, qui encouragent une vision découverte à travers un prisme unique, il apparaît difficile pour les jeunes de se former un véritable esprit critique.

Au-delà de ce regard tourné vers l’extérieur, la jeunesse israélienne est également confrontée à des défis internes. Ainsi, une grande majorité des jeunes âgés de 15 à 24 ans, considère que la distanciation entre juifs israéliens et arabes israéliens est l’un des principaux questionnements auquel est confronté la société israélienne. Une distanciation reflétée dans les différents secteurs de la société (le système éducatif et la qualité de l’enseignement variant par exemple entre les deux communautés) et qui accroît la multiplicité les défis auxquels ils font face, les points de vue, opinions et questionnements.

Par ces problématiques, le vivre ensemble au sein d’une même société et d’une même région est au cœur des grandes préoccupations de cette jeunesse. C’est pourquoi il était essentiel pour Cartooning for Peace et son partenaire de faire travailler en synergie des professeurs issus des deux communautés et d’intervenir dans des écoles juives et arabes.

Forte de son objectif de promotion de la Paix, et de l’ouverture du dialogue, initiée dans le cadre du programme financé par l’Union Européenne « Dessinons la Paix et la Démocratie », Cartooning for Peace et son partenaire, le Center for Educational Technology, proposent à la jeunesse israélienne dans toute sa diversité une réflexion par le dessin de presse sur les grandes thématiques sociétales auxquelles ils sont confrontés.

Notre partenaire

CET (Center for Educational Technology) est une ONG Israélienne dont la mission est de promouvoir l’égalité des chances pour les élèves de tous les groupes sociaux du pays. CET développe des manuels scolaires et des contenus éducatifs en ligne en hébreu et en arabe dans toutes les matières et pour tous les âges. Ce sont 70.000 professeurs qui bénéficient des formations en ligne ou en personne et qui sont équipés des savoirs et des contenus nécessaires pour encourager le dialogue entre les cultures et véhiculer des valeurs d’humanisme et d’appréciation de la diversité.

Nos actions communes

Cartooning for Peace et le Center for Educational Technology (CET) s’associent autour du programme “Dessinons la paix et la démocratie” en Israël qui propose une réflexion par l’image et le sourire aux grands défis auxquels fait face la jeunesse israélienne.

Initié par Cartooning for Peace et soutenu par la Commission Européenne, l’exposition Dessinons la paix et la démocratie en Israël a été conçue en concertation avec notre partenaire, en hébreu et en arabe, de sorte à refléter les défis et les aspirations de la jeunesse israélienne et permettre, par le prisme du dessin de presse, d’informer mais également d’éduquer, tant au sujet des questions de société qui les concernent qu’à l’importance de la liberté d’expression. Ainsi diverses thématiques sont abordées comme l’environnement, l’immigration, les égalités hommes-femmes, la justice sociale ou encore les discriminations.

Le programme a été lancé les 20-22 Janvier, par la tenue dans les locaux du Center for Educational Technology de la session de formation des dessinateurs et enseignants israéliens. Parmi les dessinateurs, nous avons compter sur la participation des dessinateurs israéliens : Avi Katz, Michel Kichka, Shay Charka, Uri Fink ; Yonatan Wachsman et NUSKO.

Ce travail pédagogique prend aujourd’hui la forme d’ateliers-rencontres, animés par les dessinateurs ayant pris part à la formation, dans les écoles partenaires où l’exposition circule.

Outils

Découvrir l’exposition « Dessinons la paix et la démocratie en Israël » ici

Partenaires

  • Logo UE site FR
  • לוגו מטח באנגלית צבע כחול
Partagez sur :