Cartooning for Peace / Cartoonists catalog / EL FISGON

EL FISGON

EL FISGON BD
Mexico

Born in Mexico in 1956, Rafael Barajas Durán alias El Fisgón is an architect from the National Autonomous University of Mexico. He is also a cartoonist at the Mexican newspaper La Jornada, writer, political activist and illustrator for children’s books. His cartoons were regularly published in the daily Unomásuno, from 1981 to 1984, and in La Jornada with his “Adventures of the sergeant Mike Goodness” from 1985 to 1987. He was founder, director and collaborator of the political humour magazine El Chahuistle from 1994 to 1997 and of its successor El Chamuco y los hijos del Averno, from 1997 to 2000 and until 2007.

He received the Guggenheim grant from 2002 to 2003 and dedicated himself to free speech through caricature in Mexico. In 2000, the National Council for the Culture and the Arts published his book La historia de un país en caricatura (“The story of a country in cartoons”).

He wrote many books and essays about the history of art and the caricature such as Un país que no conoce su rostro está condenado a la caricatura (“A country that does not know his face is condemned to caricature”) in 1995. With some university networks, he created circles of study in 2006, in order to generate thinking and political preparation for citizens and for the youth. Today, there are circles of study all over Mexico.

In September 2001, he presented his book Narcotráfico para Inocentes. El narco en México y quien lo USA (« Drug Trade for Innocents. Traffic in Mexico and who USes it).

He won the Young Journalism Manuel Buendía Prize in 1987, the « Constantino Escalante » Prize from the Journalists Club in 1996, the National Journalism of Mexico Award in 1999, and the La Catrina award, at the International Book Fair in 2010.

Share on

Gallery

  • (Mexico)
    EL FISGON - (Mexico)
  • (Mexico)
    EL FISGON - (Mexico)
  • (Mexico)
    EL FISGON - (Mexico)
    - And maybe you d'ont have weapons of mass destruction, but you cannot forget that you have this thing that is so much used for war. - What thing ? - Oil.
  • (Mexico)
    EL FISGON - (Mexico)
    - Since I've been working here my father doesn't beat me anymore... Only my boss beats me.
  • (Mexico)
  • (Mexico)
  • (Mexico)
  • (Mexico)

Cartooning for Peace / Catalogue des dessinateurs / EL FISGON

EL FISGON

Mexique

Né à Mexico en 1956, Rafael Barajas Durán alias El Fisgón est architecte à l’Université nationale autonome du Mexico. Il est également dessinateur de presse au journal mexicain La Jornada, écrivain, activiste politique de gauche et illustrateur de livres pour enfants. De 1981 à 1984, ses dessins ont été publiés régulièrement dans le quotidien Unomásuno, où il a créé le supplément du dimanche El Másomenos. Puis, de 1984 à 2002, ses dessins sont parus dans La Jornada, ainsi que « Les aventures du sergent Mike Goodness » de 1985 à 1987. Il a été fondateur, directeur et collaborateur des revues d’humour politique El Chahuistle de 1994 à 1997 puis de son successeur El Chamuco y los hijos del Averno de 1997 à 2000 et de 2007 à aujourd’hui, où il publie régulièrement ses dessins ou histoires.

Il a reçu la bourse Guggenheim de 2002 à 2003, et s’est dédié à la recherche de la liberté d’expression par la caricature au Mexique. En 2000, le Conseil National pour la Culture et les Arts a publié son livre La historia de un país en caricatura (« L’histoire d’un pays en caricatures »).

Il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et d’essais sur l’histoire de l’art et la caricature tels que Un país que no conoce su rostro está condenado a la caricatura (« Un pays qui ne connait pas son visage est condamné à la caricature ») en 1995.

Avec des réseaux universitaires, il crée en 2006 les cercles d’étude (Circulos de Estudio) afin de générer un un espace de réflexion et de préparation politique pour les citoyens et les jeunes. Aujourd’hui, il existe des cercles d’étude dans tout le pays. En septembre 2011, il a présenté le livre Narcotráfico para Inocentes. El narco en México y quien lo USA (« Narcotrafic pour les innocents. Le narcotrafic au Mexique et qui l’utilise ») édité par Editorial El Chamuco.

Il a reçu le Prix Manuel Buendía du Journalisme Jeune en 1987, le Prix « Constantino Escalante » du club des journalistes en 1996, le Prix national de journalisme du Mexique en 1999 et le prix La Catrina à la Foire Internationale du Livre en 2010.

Partagez sur :

En images

  • (Mexique)
    EL FISGON - (Mexique)
  • (Mexique)
    EL FISGON - (Mexique)
  • (Mexique)
    EL FISGON - (Mexique)
    -Et peut-être que tu n'as pas d'armes de destruction massive, mais tu ne peux pas oublier que tu as cette chose qui s'utilise tant à la guerre. - Quelle chose ? - Le pétrole.
  • (Mexique)
    EL FISGON - (Mexique)
    -Depuis que je travaille à l'usine mon père ne me bat plus... Seul mon patron me bat.
  • (Mexique)
  • (Mexique)
  • (Mexique)
  • (Mexique)