Cartooning for Peace / Palestine

Palestine





Background

Young people aged 15-29 represent 30% of Palestinian society and all children and young people under 29 represent more than 50% of the population (UNFPA 2017). The majority take a disenchanted look at the social and political environment in which they live and wish to be heard. But if the young citizens of tomorrow have quality access to education and economic opportunities, if they participate in public life and see themselves as productive and valuable members of society, their potential could lead to growth. Through this exhibition and the workshop meetings, the project partners hope to provide a respectful and constructive forum for discussion that will contribute to the development of young people, so that they become committed actors for the future of Palestine.

Our partners

The TAMER Institute for Community Education (TAMER) is a non-governmental, non-profit educational organization established in 1989 as a natural and necessary response to the urgent needs of the Palestinian community during the first intifada (uprising). The most important of these is the need to help people learn and become productive. Focusing primarily on education rights, identity, freedom of expression and access to information, TAMER works in the West Bank and Gaza Strip, targeting primarily children and young adults to encourage and deepen learning opportunities. Their program aims to contribute to the improvement of reading, writing and all forms of expression in children and young adults. It also aims to contribute to a Palestinian environment conducive to learning processes and to support literary and educational production related to education in Palestine.

Our joint actions

Cartooning for Peace and TAMER are associated around the “Cartooning for Peace and Democracy” programme in Palestine, which offers young people a reflection through images and smiles on the major challenges facing Palestinian youth.

Initiated by Cartooning for Peace and supported by the European Union, “Cartooning for Peace and Democracy” is being carried out with the TAMER Institute for Community Education. It allows the circulation of an exhibition reflecting the challenges and aspirations of Palestinian youth in Palestinian schools and libraries, a mediation work around the exhibition, and the organization of meetings between Palestinian press cartoonists and youth. Young people will thus be able to exchange and work around different thematic panels such as freedom of expression, education, the role of social networks, or the place of women in society.

These workshops will be led by Palestinian cartoonists: Khalil Abu Arafeh (Khalil), Ramzy Taweel, Mohamed Sabaaneh, Osama Nazzal, Suhaib Mansour. They will feed the reflection and critical spirit of young people, while discovering the profession of press cartoonist, and exchange about current topics addressed in the panels of the exhibition.


TOOLS

Discover the exhibition “Cartooning for Peace and Democracy” (in Arabic and English):  Here

 


Partenaires

  • tamer logo
  • LOGO-UE
Partagez sur :

Cartooning for Peace / Palestine

Palestine





Contexte

Les jeunes de 15 à 29 ans représentent 30% de la société palestinienne et tous les enfants et les jeunes de moins de 29 ans représentent plus de 50% de la population (UNFPA 2017). La majorité porte un regard désenchanté sur l’environnement social et politique dans lequel ils vivent et désirent être entendus. Or si les jeunes citoyens de demain ont un accès de qualité à l’éducation et aux opportunités économiques, s’ils participent à la vie publique et se considèrent comme des membres productifs et précieux de la société, leur potentiel pourrait conduire à une croissance. Par l’entremise de cette exposition et des ateliers-rencontres, les partenaires du projet espèrent donner une tribune de discussion respectueuse et constructive qui participera à l’épanouissement des jeunes, pour qu’ils deviennent ces acteurs engagés pour l’avenir de la Palestine.

Nos partenaires

L’Institut TAMER pour l’éducation communautaire (TAMER Institute for Community Education – TAMER) est une organisation d’éducation non gouvernementale à but non lucratif créée en 1989 comme une réponse naturelle et nécessaire aux besoins urgents de la communauté palestinienne pendant la première intifada (soulèvement). Le plus important d’entre eux est la nécessité d’aider les gens à apprendre et à devenir productifs. Se concentrant principalement sur les droits à l’éducation, l’identité, la liberté d’expression et l’accès à l’information, TAMER travaille en Cisjordanie et dans la bande de Gaza, ciblant principalement les enfants et les jeunes adultes afin d’encourager et d’approfondir les possibilités d’apprentissage. Leur programme vise à contribuer à l’amélioration de la lecture, de l’écriture et de toutes les formes d’expression chez les enfants et les jeunes adultes. Il vise également à contribuer à un environnement palestinien favorable aux processus d’apprentissage et à soutenir la production littéraire et scolaire relative à l’éducation en Palestine.

Nos actions communes

Cartooning for Peace et TAMER s’associent autour du programme « Dessinons la paix et la démocratie » en Palestine qui propose aux jeunes une réflexion par l’image et le sourire sur les grands défis auxquels fait face la jeunesse palestinienne.

Initié par Cartooning for Peace et soutenu par l’Union Européenne, “Dessinons la paix et la démocratie” est réalisé en concertation avec le TAMER Institute for Community education. Il permet la circulation d’une exposition reflétant les défis et les aspirations de la jeunesse palestinnienne dans les écoles et bibliothèques de Palestine, un travail de médiation autour de l’exposition, et l’organisation de rencontres entre les professionnels palestiniens du dessin de presse et les jeunes. Les jeunes pourront ainsi échanger et travailler autour des différents panneaux thématiques tels que la liberté d’expression, l’éducation, le rôle des réseaux sociaux, ou encore la place de la femme dans la société.

Ces ateliers-rencontres seront animés par des caricaturistes palestiniens : Khalil Abu Arafeh (Khalil), Ramzy Taweel, Mohamed Sabaaneh, Osama Nazzal, Suhaib Mansour. Ils permettront de nourrir la réflexion et l’esprit critique des jeunes, tout en découvrant le métier de dessinateur de presse, et d’échanger autour des sujets d’actualité abordés dans les panneaux de l’exposition.

Outils

Découvrir l’exposition « Dessinons la paix et la démocratie » ici.

Partenaires

  • tamer logo
  • LOGO-UE
Partagez sur :