Cartooning for Peace / ZUNAR – Malaysia

ZUNAR – Malaysia

ZUNAR

On the 11th of February 2015, Malaysian cartoonist Zulkiflee SM Anwar Ulhaque alias « Zunar » was arrested by policemen after releasing a cartoon on Twitter. His tweet condemned the five year-imprisonment sentence imposed on former vice-Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim who had been charged charged with sodomy. Zunar criticized the lack of justice and the political nature of the sentence, which was generated by current Prime Minister Najib Razak –disguised as a judge in the cartoon.

Zunar is now charged with 9 counts for having posted tweets that criticize Malaysian judicial system and shows it as a biased system that serves Prime Minister Najib Razak’s interests. Zunar is facing a 43 year-imprisonment sentence. His trail was postponed on September 2015.

Cartoonist Rights Network International (CRNI) and Amnesty International launched a petition in July 2015. It calls on Prime Minister to drop the charges held against Zunar and the « Sedition Act » -which goes back to the time of colonialism and affects freedom of expression because it facilitates prosecutions against journalists and cartoonists and it prohibits any kind of speech considered as seditious.

On September 21, 2015, Zunar was invited by Cartooning for Peace to the International Seminar on Cartoons and Freedom of Speech “Press Cartoons: a state of affairs“.

Update: Zunar’s trial has been postponed on November 22, 2016.

Partagez sur :

Gallery

  • Cartooning in Malaysia, by Zunar
    ZUNAR – Malaysia - Cartooning in Malaysia, by Zunar
  • Political Sentence, by Zunar
    ZUNAR – Malaysia - Political Sentence, by Zunar
  • Sedition Act, by Zunar
    ZUNAR – Malaysia - Sedition Act, by Zunar
  • Freedom of Speech, by Zunar
    ZUNAR – Malaysia - Freedom of Speech, by Zunar
  • Sedition Act, by Zunar
    ZUNAR – Malaysia - Sedition Act, by Zunar
  • Neutrality, by Zunar
    ZUNAR – Malaysia - Neutrality, by Zunar
  • Cartooning in Malaysia, by Zunar
  • Political Sentence, by Zunar
  • Sedition Act, by Zunar
  • Freedom of Speech, by Zunar
  • Sedition Act, by Zunar
  • Neutrality, by Zunar

Cartooning for Peace / ZUNAR – Malaisie

ZUNAR – Malaisie

Le dessinateur malaisien Zulkiflee SM Anwar Ulhaque alias Zunar a été interpellé le 11 février 2015 par la police après un dessin posté sur le réseau social Twitter. Son tweet critiquait la confirmation, la veille, d’une peine de 5 ans de prison contre l’ancien vice-Premier ministre Anwar Ibrahim, accusé de sodomie. Il critique l’absence de justice et le caractère politique de la condamnation, derrière laquelle se cache l’actuel Premier Ministre Najib Razak (déguisé en juge).

Le dessinateur Zunar doit répondre de 9 charges d’accusation pour des tweets critiquant le système judiciaire (qu’il juge partial, au service du Premier Ministre Najib Razak). S’il est condamné il risque jusqu’à 43 ans de prison. Son procès a été reporté au mois de septembre 2015.

Une pétition a été lancée en juillet 2015 notamment par le président de Cartoonist Rights Network International (CRNI) et Amnesty International. Elle interpelle le Premier Ministre et lui demande, outre d’abandonner les charges contre Zunar, d’abolir le « Sedition Act » (datant de l’époque de la colonisation) qui porte atteinte à la liberté d’expression en permettant des poursuites aisées contre les journalistes et dessinateurs car il interdit tout discours considéré comme « séditieux ».

Le 21 septembre 2015, Zunar était invité au colloque « Le dessin de presse dans tous ses Etats », à Paris, par Cartooning for Peace.

Mise à jour 2017 : Après avoir été repoussé plusieurs fois, le procès de Zunar est de nouveau reporté à une date ultérieure.

Vidéo de l’AFP ici.

 

Partagez sur :

Gallery

  • Dessiner en Malaisie, par Zunar
    ZUNAR – Malaisie - Dessiner en Malaisie, par Zunar
  • Sentence politique, par Zunar
    ZUNAR – Malaisie - Sentence politique, par Zunar
  • Loi sur la sédition, par Zunar
    ZUNAR – Malaisie - Loi sur la sédition, par Zunar
  • Liberté d’expression, par Zunar
    ZUNAR – Malaisie - Liberté d’expression, par Zunar
  • Loi sur la sédition, par Zunar
    ZUNAR – Malaisie - Loi sur la sédition, par Zunar
  • Neutralité..par Zunar
    ZUNAR – Malaisie - Neutralité..par Zunar
  • Dessiner en Malaisie, par Zunar
  • Sentence politique, par Zunar
  • Loi sur la sédition, par Zunar
  • Liberté d’expression, par Zunar
  • Loi sur la sédition, par Zunar
  • Neutralité..par Zunar