The European Parliament Sakharov Prize for freedom of thought in 2011 goes to five representatives of the Arab people, in recognition and support of their drive for freedom and human rights. Among them, Ali Ferzat, former director of the satiric weekly newspaper Al-Domari (The Lighter of Streetlights) and famous editorial cartoonist, whose hands were broken by the Syrian security forces as a retaliation measure, on August 25, 2011.

Parliament’s 2011 Sakharov Prize also goes to Asmaa Mahfouz (Egypt), Ahmed al-Zubair Ahmed al-Sanusi (Libya), Razan Zaitouneh (Syria) and posthumously to Mohamed Bouazizi (Tunisia).

The Sakharov Prize for freedom of thought, named in honour of the Soviet physicist and political dissident Andrei Sakharov, has been awarded by the European Parliament every year since 1988 to individuals or organizations that have made an important contribution to the fight for human rights or democracy.

Find all information about the Sakharov Prize on the website of the European Parliament.